Police Engineering Project


police hq kohima

The Nagaland State Police Force came into being with the formation of the State of Nagaland on 1st December 1963 and now it has grown to strength of almost twenty six thousand strong force. Nagaland Armed Police (NAP) Battalion was created in the year 1964 and consecutively up to 8 NAP Battalions were created till 1985.The State police now covers eleven administrative districts and has fifteen Armed Police Battalions inclusive of seven India Reserve (IR) Battalions and eleven DEFs. The NAP (IR) Bn of Nagaland is a full service law enforcement operation providing services to a population of almost 20,00,000 peopleConsistent with the mission of the Department, the personals have strived to meet the demands of the community while remaining sensitive to law enforcement expectations and capabilities



Ongoing SP office at Mokokchung under mod

Ongoing SP office at Mokokchung under mod

Police Engineering Project was established on 2nd November 1968 with one Division at Chumukedima and subsequently three Sub-Divisions namely Chumukedima, Alichen and Tuensang was created for the smooth functioning of the Police department with a separate Demand Grant No.68 under the control of the PHQ. With the establishment of more District Executive Force, Units & Battalions, expansion of the Police Engineering Project also took place and presently Police Engineering Project has a full-fledged Chief Engineer with four working divisions .

Initially, the technical personnel were brought from the state PWD on deputation basis. However, with the amalgamation of all Engineering wing under the state government in the year 1989, the technical personnel of the Police Engineering Project (Except those from the electrical wing) were brought into the cadre of the Nagaland Public Works Department and since then, all the technical personnel from the level of Chief Engineer to the Junior Engineer and Sectional Officers are deputed from the Nagaland PWD.

The Nagaland Police is one major department under the Nagaland state government which is entrusted with the maintenance of law and order and security. The following are the different establishment under the Nagaland Police department:

  1. Police Headquarters (PHQ)
  2. District Executive Force Units in all the 11 Districts
  3. NAP Battalions- 8 Units
  4. NAP(IR) Battalions- 6 Units
  5. NAP(IR) Mahila Battalion- 1 Unit
  6. PTS at Chumukedima
  7. PCS at Chumukedima
  8. Nagaland Police Telecommunication Organization (NPTO)
  9. Forensic Science Laboratory (FSL) at Dimapur
  10. Police Central Workshop (PCW) at Chumukedima
  11. Police Engineering Project (PEP)
  12. Special Branch Establishment
  13. NAPTC at Chumukedima
  14. Police Training Centre & Regional Institute at Ruzaphema



Construction of Officers Mess Zunheboto under MOD

Main objectives/functions of the establishment are to provide police accommodation (residential & non-residential), water supply, roads inside police complex, internal and external electrification and other infrastructures of the Police Department in the State.  Besides the Police Department, this department is also supervising the works for the Fire & Emergency Service Department and Home Guard department as a deposit work in nature.





G20 logo
G20 logo